Deleting Friend Requests in 14 Days If Not Accepted : Facebook
The big blue social network feeds off your social graph, and every time you expand it, it has more content to show you. But if you leave a questionable friend request in limbo for too long, you’ll probably never confirm or delete it.
So Facebook is betting that by making those friend requests into exploding offers, you’ll be more likely to accept than lose the opportunity to connect. And if you didn’t want that friend request in the first place, it will self-destruct even if you don’t bother to manually reject it.
As you may know, Facebook friend requests accumulate over time but they never expire. This means any requests received remains in your friend requests unless you either accept them or delete them. One can simply delete a certain request to remove it but if you don’t take any action then the request will stay active indefinitely. However, if the sender cancels the request while it’s awaiting your approval then the request will disappear from your friend requests.
Well, Facebook seems to be changing this behaviour now by setting an expiry time for the friend requests. Earlier today, we noticed a completely new notification on “Friend Requests” page on Facebook app for Android. It reads that “Requests expire after 14 days.” and every request now individually shows that you’ve 14 days to respond. Tapping the learn more shows that Facebook friend requests will now expire after 14 days and if a request expires before you accept it, you can send that person a friend request instead. This is certainly a big change that hasn’t been officially announced yet by Facebook.
It’d now be interesting to see all the pending friend requests on Facebook automatically expiring after 14 days. In our opinion, this is a good change which will ensure that users don’t have any unwanted requests clogging up. It will also push users to take a quick action on the requests rather than ignoring them forever. The 14 days waiting period is similar to what Facebook provides prior to deleting your Facebook account permanently.